Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join

Annual Meeting 2018

Works with the Director to plan the largest of the two national meetings we hold each year.  Determines panel and lecture topics, recruits speakers, serves as a liaison between speakers and the staff.

Casey M. Chisick (Co-Chair), Maria A. Pallante (Co-Chair), Howard Abrams, Dan Cooper, Carrie Dumont, Andrew Hannibal, Catherine Lovrics, Andrea Rush

Brace Lecture

Works with the Honoree and the Director to organize the annual Donald C. Brace Memorial Lecture, a prestigious honor awarded to leading academics and practitioners within the copyright community.

Gloria C. Phares (Chair)


Oversees the editorial board and manages the quarterly publication for the peer-reviewed Journal of the Copyright Society of the USA, the leading U.S. law review exclusively devoted to copyright.

Robert Brauneis (Co-Chair), William S. Strong (Co-Chair), Christine Pepe, Gloria Phares and Chad Rutkowski
Journal Editors: F. Jay Dougherty (Editor-in-Chief), William Manz (Associate Editor), Elissa Hecker (Assistant Editor)

Media Library

This committee works closely with the CSUSA Staff to oversee the content and navigation of the CSUSA Media Library.

Joshua Simmons (Chair), Nancy Kopans

Midwinter Meeting 2018

Works with the Director to plan this event, one of two national meetings we hold each year. Determines panel and lecture topics, recruits speakers, serves as a liaison between speakers and the staff.

Matthew Moore (Co-Chair), Robert Thornburg (Co-Chair), Sarah Conley Odenkirk, Heather Mars, Gabriel Miller, Austin Padgett, Allison Roach, Hannibal Travis


Develops strategies to recruit new members and to retain existing membership. Evaluates member benefits, helps develop messaging to promote membership and reaches out to professional contacts to invite them to join or renew.

Joseph E. Petersen (Chair), Bob Brauneis, Joe DiMona, Judith Finell, Dinara Kamlova (Membership Events Coordinator), Leia LeFay, John P. Luneau, Eric Schwartz

Social Media

Works with the staff to build the Society’s online presence. Prioritizes promoting Society events, publicizing the accomplishments of our members and encouraging membership.  Also seeks to make the Society an online source of information on, and to foster discussion of, the latest cases, decisions, policies and trends.

Andrew Hannibal (Chair)


Creates the sponsorship program and works with the Director and President to build corporate sponsorship for the Annual and Midwinter Meetings.

Joseph Salvo (Co-Chair), Michael Elkin (Co-Chair)


Committees are what drive the Copyright Society. Getting involved on a committee is one of the best ways to get the most out of your membership. It is on committees where you will make your best networking contacts — and friendships. The experience of working on a committee may lead you to further involvement in the Society's leadership.

Email us today

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal